Akhilesh Yadav appointed leader of opposition in Uttar Pradesh assembly | Latest News India

Samajwadi Party (SP) chief Akhilesh Yadav was on Saturday appointed leader of the opposition in the Uttar Pradesh assembly.

“This is publicly published that Akhilesh Yadav, member of UP legislative assembly and leader of the Samajwadi Party legislature party, is appointed as the leader of opposition in UP legislative assembly under Section 2 (h) of Uttar Pradesh State Legislature (Members Emoluments and Pension) Act, 1980 with effect from 26 March, 2022,” the UP Vidhan Sabha secretariat stated in an announcement.

The appointment was finalised quickly after the SP notified the UP Vidhan Sabha secretariat that Akhilesh Yadav was unanimously elected leader of the Samajwadi Party legislature celebration.

Earlier in the day, the SP held the primary meeting of newly-elected MLAs of the celebration at its headquarters. “Akhilesh has been unanimously elected as leader of SP legislative party,” Naresh Uttam Patel, celebration’s state president, stated after the meeting.

Akhilesh had resigned on Tuesday from the Lok Sabha by handing over his resignation to Speaker of the Lower House Om Birla. He represented Azamgarh in the Lok Sabha.

The SP chief resigned from the Lok Sabha after successful the Karhal assembly seat in the recently-held Uttar Pradesh elections.

The SP had gained 5 Lok Sabha seats in the 2019 normal elections. The celebration’s energy has decreased to a few after the resignations of Akhilesh and SP’s Azam Khan from the Lok Sabha.

In the recently-held UP polls, SP bagged 111 seats — a major enhance from its 47 seats in 2017. The BJP returned to energy in the state with over 250 seats.

At the SP meeting on Saturday, solely SP MLAs have been invited and none of the MLAs of allied events, or those that belonged to allies however contested on a SP ticket, have been invited, stated Naresh Uttam Patel. There will likely be one other meeting on March 28 the place even these MLAs will likely be invited, he stated.

RLD, too, holds MLAs’ meet

An ally of the Samajwadi Party — Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD), too, held a meeting of its newly-elected MLAs at its celebration office in Lucknow.

All eight RLD MLAs attended the meeting, chaired by celebration chief Jayant Chaudhary. They mentioned the ballot outcomes and the celebration’s position in the UP assembly.

“The new MLAs unanimously decided and authorised Chaudhary to select the RLD legislature party leader,” stated Anil Dubey, the celebration’s nationwide spokesperson.

After the meeting, Jayant, together with the eight MLAs and different celebration leaders, met Akhilesh, who congratulated the RLD MLAs over their victories whereas the RLD MLAs and Jayant greeted Akhilesh on his turning into the leader of the opposition in the assembly.

Back to top button