Bypoll for 3 Lok Sabha & 7 assembly seats on June 23; results on June 26 | Latest News India

Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, Tripura, Andhra Pradesh, Delhi and Jharkhand might be voting within the by-elections

The Election Commission on Wednesday launched the schedule for the bypolls to the parliamentary and assembly constituencies in 5 states and Delhi. The bypolls might be held in Punjab, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, Jharkhand and Delhi on June 23 and counting of votes will happen on June 26. 

Here are the states and constituencies which can vote within the by-elections

The high-profile Sangrur Lok Sabha seat will vote on June 23. The bypoll has been necessitated as a result of resignation of its MP Bhagwant Mann, who grew to become the chief minister of Punjab following the Aam Aadmi Party’s landslide victory within the Punjab assembly polls. Mann had first gained the seat in 2014 and larer retained the constituency within the 2019 Lok Sabha polls, being the one member from his occasion within the decrease home. 

Uttar Pradesh
The two seats which can vote within the by-election are the parliamentary seats of Azamgarh and Rampur. The constituencies have been represented by Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav and his occasion colleague Azam Khan. While Yadav acquired elected to the assembly from Karhal, Khan gained the elections from Rampur assembly seat. 

The 4 seats within the north-eastern state which go to polls are Agartala, Town Bordowali, Surma and Jubarajnagar. The bypolls are happening following the loss of life of former speaker Ramendra Chandra Debnath from Jubarajnagar whereas three BJP legislators, Sudip Roy Barman and Asish Kumar Saha and Asish Das defected to the Congress and Trinamool Congress respectively.

Andhra Pradesh

The Atmakur assembly constituency will go to bypolls on June 23. The by-election is happening as a result of demise of its MLA, the Andhra Pradesh state industries, commerce and knowledge know-how minister Mekapati Goutham Reddy. The YSR Congress chief had died of a coronary heart assault on February 22 this year.


All eyes might be on the bypoll to Delhi’s Rajinder Nagar constituency. The seat fell vacant after its MLA Raghav Chadha acquired elected to the Rajya Sabha final month. Once thought-about a BJP stronghold with the saffron occasion successful three consecutive elections between 1993 and 2003, Rajinder Nagar was gained by the Congress in 2008 earlier than being gained once more by the BJP in 2013. But it was AAP’s Vijender Garg who gained the seat in 2015 and Raghav Chadha gained it in 2020. 

The Mandar assembly constituency goes to polls on June 23.


Close Story



Back to top button