Technology

Google removes 25 apps for stealing Facebook login credentials – Here is the complete list of apps

Search engine giant Google has come to know that 25 apps have come for phishing on users’ Facebook login credentials.

According to the French cyber-security firm, Avina’s new malware steals Facebook logins and can effectively ruin your online and offline lives.

“New methods of fraud are routinely brought to the attention of our cyber security experts and we have recently discovered new malware logging into Facebook. This malware can effectively ruin your online and offline life by making it one of the most valuable pieces of real estate with credentials. The malware was embedded in a large number of popular apps, ”Avina wrote in a blog post.

  1. Super Wallpapers Flashlight
  2. Padenatef
  3. Wallpaper Level
  4. Contour level wallpaper
  5. iPlayer & iWallpaper
  6. Video Maker
  7. Color Wallpapers
  8. Pedometer
  9. Powerful Flashlight
  10. Super Bright Flashlight
  11. Super Flashlight
  12. Solitaire Game
  13. Accurate scanning of Meade
  14. Classic card game
  15. Junk file cleaning
  16. Synthetic Z
  17. File Manager
  18. Composite Z
  19. Screenshot Capture
  20. Daily Horoscope Wallpapers
  21. Wuxia Reader
  22. Plus Weather
  23. Anime Live Wallpaper
  24. iHealth Step Counter
  25. com.tgyapp.fiction

“We had Google close those applications. The cyber research firm stated that Avina managed to successfully reverse-engineer the malware, which enabled us to protect end-users.

The aforementioned malicious apps, Avina says, collectively had over 25 million downloads.

The security firm further stated that when an application is launched on your phone, the malware questions the name of the application and if it is a Facebook application, the malware will launch a browser at the same time that it loads Facebook.

“The browser appears in the foreground which you think the application has launched. When you enter your credentials in this browser, malware executes Java script to retrieve them. The malware then sends your account information to the server, ”it added.

Back to top button