Congress may struggle to retain three parliamentary standing committees chairmanships | Latest News India

New Delhi:

The Congress may struggle to retain its chairmanship in three parliamentary standing committees within the upcoming reshuffle of the panels owing to its present power in each Houses of Parliament, in accordance to individuals conscious of the matter.

The Congress now has 33 members within the Rajya Sabha, down from 56 in 2019. It has 52 MPs within the Lok Sabha. “Some Bharatiya Janata Party members have pointed this out and demanded that the Congress should not retain three chairman’s positions as the BJP deserves one additional chairman’s post,” a senior parliamentary official mentioned, asking not to be named.

All members of Parliament are entitled to get a seat within the standing committees. But the chairperson’s position in these 24 panels is set on the idea of the mixed power of every occasion within the Rajya Sabha and the Lok Sabha. While all chairpersons have been nominated by both Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla or Rajya Sabha chairman Venkaiah Naidu, there’s a strict quota system for these nominations.

In 2019, the Trinamool Congress lost one such position after its Lok Sabha tally decreased from 34 in 2014 to 28 in 2019. The occasion, which headed two panels, now has simply Sudip Bandyopadhyay because the chairman of the meals and shopper affairs panel.

Each panel is constituted for a span of 1 year. At the tip of every year, panels are reshuffled. All current panels are scrapped on the finish of a Lok Sabha’s time period and new panels are fashioned within the new Lok Sabha.

The Congress presently chairs the house affairs, info expertise and setting standing committees. Some BJP leaders have already argued with the Lok Sabha prime brass that because the Congress’s tally is down by greater than 20 MPs, Congress chief Shashi Tharoor will be changed by a BJP chief. BJP leaders together with Nishikant Dubey earlier wrote to the Lok Sabha Speaker to take away Tharoor from the chair after main arguments within the panel over the submission of topics and calling of witnesses.

There are 24 parliamentary standing committees to oversee the work of all Union ministries. Sixteen of those are within the Lok Sabha’s jurisdiction and the remaining eight fall below the Rajya Sabha’s ambit.

“The process of rejigging the panels is now at the final stage. Some smaller parties are yet to submit their nominations for various positions and following those steps, the panels will be reshuffled,” an official mentioned on situation of anonymity.

Chairmanship is set on the idea of power of a celebration in each Houses of Parliament. The quota is arrived at by dividing the overall power of Parliament by 24 or the variety of department-related standing committees. Apart from these 24 panels, MPs are additionally nominated as chairpersons in different standing committees. Congress chief Adhir Chowdhury chairs the Public Accounts Committee.

A 3rd official additionally advised that even when the Congress manages to retain its chairmanship within the three standing committees, it’d discover it tough to hold these seats subsequent year because the BJP’s tally within the Rajya Sabha is anticipated to rise additional.

Back to top button