Presidential election on July 18, results 3 days later: Election Commission | Latest News India

NEW DELHI: The presidential election will likely be on July 18 and the results will likely be declared three days later on July 21, the Election Commission (EC) introduced on Thursday.

A proper notification will likely be issued on June 15 and the nominations must be filed by June 29, chief election commissioner Rajiv Kumar and election commissioner Anup Chandra Pandey stated at a press convention.

The final date for withdrawal of candidature is July 2.

President Ram Nath Kovind’s time period ends on July 24 and in line with the (*3*), a brand new president needs to be appointed earlier than his time period ends.

The president is elected by an electoral faculty comprising 776 members of Parliament (members of Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha) and 4,033 members of the legislative assemblies, with a complete of 4,809 votes being cast. The mixed worth of votes of state legislators is 543,231 and that of MPs is 543,200, a complete of 1,086,431.

Nominated MPs and members of the legislative council aren’t allowed to vote. Each elector is allowed a single transferable vote, and the voting is finished by secret poll. Since the anti-defection regulation isn’t relevant within the presidential election, electors usually are not sure to vote alongside social gathering traces.

“Political parties cannot issue a whip to its members,” Rajiv Kumar stated.

“The election can also be held invalid if there is evidence of inducement or bribery by the Supreme Court.”

The fee may even present a particular pen that the electors should use to cast the vote. The secretary-general of the Rajya Sabha has been appointed because the returning officer for the election.

The voting will happen within the Parliament complicated and the state legislative assemblies and Covid protocols will likely be adopted within the conduct of the election.

The Congress and the opposite opposition events are decided to area their very own candidate towards the Bharatiya Janata Party-led National Democratic Alliance’s nominee within the coming presidential election, HT reported in April.

The election for the vice chairman is predicted to happen in August.

In 2017, the Congress-led Opposition fielded former Lok Sabha speaker Meira Kumar as its candidate. The ruling dispensation mustered 661,278 votes for Ram Nath Kovind whereas Kumar acquired 434,241votes.

The Opposition’s probabilities of getting its candidate elected within the race is nonetheless, slim. Even if the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) is wanting the bulk mark of 549,452 votes by 9000 votes, it has potential supporters such because the Biju Janata Dal and the YSR Congress Party that make up for the deficit.

In latest many years, solely APJ Abdul Kalam’s election as president noticed close to unanimity between the ruling facet and a big part of the opposition. Even then, the Left events fielded former INA soldier Lakhmi Sehgal towards Kalam.

Back to top button