Punjab makes face masks obligatory. Which other states have issued mask mandates? | Latest News India

Punjab has made sporting of face masks obligatory in crowded locations. The order – shared by information company ANI – cites the ‘growing variety of Covid instances in among the states and UTs’ and advises all residents of the state to put on masks.

India on Thursday reported over 2,000 new Covid instances in 24 hours – a rise of 15 per cent from yesterday’s figures. Concerned over the rise in Covid instances states that had beforehand withdrawn the mask mandate have now re-introduced this rule.

Which states and UTs have re-introduced (or retained) obligatory masking?

> Punjab: “Wearing of masks should be specially ensured in closed environments like public transport (bus, train, taxi and aircraft), cinema halls, shopping malls and departmental stores, and classrooms, offices and indoor gatherings,” the order, signed by the principal secretary to state’s house ministry, mentioned.

> Delhi: The Delhi Disaster Management Authority on Wednesday not solely introduced again obligatory masking but additionally re-imposed a effective of 500 on violators. However, regardless of a raft of instances from colleges in Noida and other elements of Delhi NCR, the DDMA mentioned bodily lessons will proceed with stricter SOPs.

> Haryana: Haryana well being minister Anil Vij on Monday mentioned that in view of accelerating Covid instances sporting face masks can be made obligatory once more in 4 NCR districts – Gurugram, Faridabad, Sonepat and Jhajjar. Those not sporting masks will likely be fined, he mentioned.


> Chandigarh: On Tuesday the union territory mentioned masks can be made obligatory once more in public locations. Residents had been additionally suggested to take care of social distancing and comply with other Covid-appropriate security protocols. The resolution to carry again masking was made simply weeks after the UT administration mentioned it was non-obligatory to put on masks and withdrew the effective.

> Uttar Pradesh: On Monday the UP authorities made sporting of masks obligatory in Lucknow and 6 districts a part of Delhi NCR. A authorities spokesperson mentioned the districts are Gautam Buddh Nagar, Ghaziabad, Hapur, Meerut, Bulandshahr, and Baghpat, in addition to capital Lucknow.

> Bengal: Unlike some other states Bengal didn’t formally raise the mask mandate from April 1. Some restrictions had been eased however persons are nonetheless required to put on masks in public areas.

Back to top button