Chris Gayle to play for Sohail Khan-owned Kandy Tuskers in Lanka Premier League

By: Sports Desk |

Updated: October 21, 2020 5:19:07 pm

Chris Gayle has joined Kandy Tuskers which is owned by Sohail Khan International LLO. (Source: File)

Chris Gayle was picked up by Kandy Tuskers in the Lanka Premier League (LPL) Players Draft on Monday after the crew was purchased by Bollywood actor and producer Sohail Khan.

Sohail Khan International LLO, which is part of Sohail and his father Salim Khan’s consortium, made the funding in the Kandy-based franchise earlier than the league begins on November 21.

Apart from Gayle, the franchise has roped in the likes of Liam Plunkett, Wahab Riaz, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, and Nuwan Pradeep. Hashan Tillakaratne, the previous Sri Lankan skipper,  is a part of the Kandy teaching workers.

“There is a lot of potential in the Lanka Premier League and we are really very happy to be part of this exciting initiative. Sri Lankan fans are very passionate about the game and I am sure they will come out in large numbers to support the team,” Sohail Khan stated in an official assertion.

“Chris Gayle is obviously the Universe Boss, but he is not alone, we have a very good team, a good balance of youth and experience, and I am backing my team to play the final,” Salman Khan’s youthful brother added.

Sohail Khan has grow to be the fifth Bollywood actor to personal a franchise cricket crew in knowledgeable T20 cricket league after Shah Rukh Khan (Kolkata Knight Riders, Trinbago Knight Riders), Juhi Chawla (Kolkata Knight Riders), Shilpa Shetty (Rajasthan Royals), and Preity Zinta (Kings XI Punjab).

“We are committed to create a world-class league with LPL and what better way than to spread the message through Bollywood and Sohail Khan,” stated Anil Mohan, Innovative Production Group (IPG) CEO.

“Sohail’s love for cricket is well documented, he will not only add glamour to the whole event but he is also passionate about the sport. We couldn’t have asked for a better partner than him,” he added.

Last week, Manvinder Singh Bisla and Manpreet Gony have been picked by the Colombo Kings franchise in the LPL participant’s draft together with Angelo Mathews, Faf du Plessis, and Andre Russell.

The Lanka Premier League is scheduled to be performed from November 21 to December 13, 2020, at two venues — Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Kandy and Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium in Hambantota.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and keep up to date with the most recent headlines

For all the most recent Sports News, obtain Indian Express App.


Back to top button