IND v AUS 1st T20I Preview: Well-rounded India expected to pose tougher challenge to Australia

By: PTI |

December 3, 2020 2:27:02 pm

Short of resources in ODIs, India could have sufficient choices to select from to pose a stiffer challenge to Australia when the 2 sides conflict in a three-match T20 sequence starting right here on Friday.

The 1-2 ODI sequence loss reaffirmed that India have a variety of work to do within the 50-over format however they possess a way more balanced squad within the shortest format.

Before the pandemic suspended sporting actions all over the world, India had blanked hosts New Zealand in a five-match sequence and they are going to be taking a variety of confidence out of that consequence into the competition in opposition to Australia.

The presence of Washington Sundar, Deepak Chahar and T Natarajan, who did nicely on his ODI debut on Wednesday, lends much-needed stability to the bowling division.

Sundar shall be excessive on confidence after a stable IPL the place Royal Challengers Bangalore and India skipper Virat Kohli used him successfully within the powerplay and center overs.

With Hardik Pandya not bowling recurrently, India had just one specialist all-rounder in Ravindra Jadeja within the one-dayers.

However, within the T20s, Kohli may even have the companies of Sundar in each the departments and there’s a risk that Hardik can roll his arm over for a short spell like he did from the second ODI onwards.

Yorker specialist Natarajan, who was a late addition to the ODI squad, might additionally make his T20 debut on Friday having proven sufficient promise in his maiden worldwide look.

Unlike the SCG, the Manuka Oval floor had sufficient for each the spinners and pacers. It shall be fascinating to see who opens up the bowling alongside Jasprit Bumrah with the toss-up being between Mohammad Shami and Deepak Chahar.

Yuzvendra Chahal, who had a forgettable outing within the ODIs, may even be wanting to bounce again.

In batting, Okay L Rahul, who batted at 5 in ODIs, is expected to return to his most well-liked opening slot alongside Shikhar Dhawan.

The in-form wicketkeeper batsman had additionally opened within the earlier sequence in opposition to New Zealand and can be expected to bat the majority of the 20 overs like he did so nicely within the IPL.

Skipper Kohli appeared in good contact in ODIs and shall be aiming to build on that whereas quantity 4 Shreyas Iyer shall be targetting massive scores from nice begins like he did within the previous three-match sequence.

As Kohli talked about, the win within the inconsequential third ODI was simply the sort of consequence they wanted forward of the T20 sequence, else the tour would have gotten tougher.

Australia, after naming the identical squad for ODIs in addition to T20s, can be backing themselves to beat India after a scientific show over the past one week regardless of damage considerations.

Star batsman David Warner is unavailable due to a groin damage and it stays to be seen if Marnus Labuschagne comes alongside skipper Aaron Finch on Friday like they each did an evening in the past.

Marcus Stoinis would have been one other good opening choice with Finch however he too is a uncertain starter due to a aspect damage he suffered in the course of the ODIs.

India vs Australia ODI, T20 and Test Series 2020-21: Schedule, Squad, Time Table, Players List, Venues, different particulars

Mitchell Starc, who was rested on Wednesday, is expected to return to bolster the assault even because the aspect misses the companies of Pat Cummins, who has been rested as a part of the his workload administration.


India: Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul (vice-captain and wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, T Natarajan.

Australia: Aaron Finch (C), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Daniel Sams, Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, A’Arcy Short, Adam Zampa.

Match begins 1.40 PM IST.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and keep up to date with the most recent headlines

For all the most recent Sports News, obtain Indian Express App.


Back to top button