Sports

IPL 2020 | ‘What’s the point of technology?’: Short-run call in DC vs KXIP match creates controversy

Image Source : TWITTER/@VIRENDERSEHWAG

Kings XI Punjab co-owner Preity Zinta reacted strongly to the short-run call, which proved expensive for the facet as they conceded a defeat to Delhi Capitals in the Super Over.



The match between Delhi Capitals and Kings XI Punjab which noticed quite a bit of seesawing in momentum ended in a Super Over, and what adopted was an outpour of opinions over a controversial umpiring determination throughout the ending levels of the recreation, which appeared to have made all the distinction.

With Kings XI Punjab requiring 21 runs to win from 10 deliveries, Mayank Agarwal sliced a full-toss away to additional cowl, operating a straightforward two. However, the on-field umpire Nitin Menon known as Chris Jordan for a short-run as he took-off from the striker’s finish.

The tv replays confirmed that Jordan had landed the bat on the floor, that means that the umpire’s call was mistaken. The determination was not overturned and solely a single was credited to KXIP’s rating.

It ultimately made the distinction as the match ended in a tie, and Delhi Capitals received in the Super Over.

The controversial call turned a subject of dialogue following the finish of the match, with many former cricketers, consultants and even the co-owner of Kings XI Punjab, Preity Zinta insisting that the third umpire ought to have been allowed to overturn the determination.

Taking to Twitter, Zinta wrote, “I travelled enthusiastically during a pandemic,did 6 days of Quarantine & 5covid tests with a smile but that one Short Run hit me hard. What’s the point of technology if it cannot be used? It’s time @BCCI introduces new rules.This cannot happen every year. #DCvKXIP @lionsdenkxip.”

Former Australian girls’s cricketer Lisa Sthalekar additionally opined the similar.

Virender Sehwag critcised the on-field umpire, and mockingly mentioned that he ought to’ve been give the Man of the Match as an alternative.

However, based on the IPL rule-book, there isn’t a provision which permits the third umpire to overturn selections resembling this. According to the rule, solely dismissals and run-outs (the place each the gamers are on the similar ends) might be overturned on evaluation, together with no-ball calls and bounds.

Former Kings XI Punjab coach Tom Moody didn’t blame the on-field umpire on the determination.

“Unfortunately, things like that aren’t thought through until incidents like that happen,” Moody advised ESPN. “Without a doubt the third umpire should have made a ruling but they need to declare that that is part of the rules prior to the start of the tournament. It clearly isn’t part of the rules.

“The no-balls go upstairs (for evaluation) and the third umpires are in cost of that, (similar with) run-outs and stumpings.

“But they haven’t declared that any other incidents like that (when) a third umpire can overrule an on-field umpire. Until that happens we’re not going to get full engagement of the technology that’s available.”

Fight towards Coronavirus: Full protection



Source



Back to top button